Stellaluna Update: The Beets, Kurt Vile, Lake, Karl Blau, the Finches.

Posted on 09/09/2009

1


Stellaluna has been changing a little bit these days. We have been playing more as a full band (and often switch to being electric) with Chase and Ryan on drums and bass respectively. We have been participating in tons of extra curricular activities, too. For one thing, Chase and I are back at school–everyone works, and so that is why we haven’t booked a tour for this Fall. Be sure to check out Chase’s other bands: Soft Shoulder, My Feral Kin, and sometimes as part of Stephen Steinbrink (French Quarter). Ryan’s also fronts Cardiac Party and has a freaking awesome new project called Timatimfitfit. Chase has an awesome zine called Lorum Ipsom’s Water Science, which you can buy off of his blog. I just started an amateur food blog for practice and fun called Make Spoons. I’m also releasing a sound-collage// found sound// all-out noise fit as my alter-ego Catholic Guilt. It will be a limited CD-r split with Flagstaff’s Killian Lord and should be out by November or so.

For those of you who have e-mailed me and the Tiny Panda e-mail address, I am sorry that most of our stuff if Out of Print and/or temporarily unavailable. You can still buy a copy of “My Heart is an Anchor” from http://www.folktalerecords.com and you might be able to find a copy of our earliest recordings (EEP! EP) at Stinkweeds or Revolver Records in Phoenix. Amoeba has told me that we’ve sold out of everything we sent over to them, so if you are in SoCal and want to try and find something that is Out of Print, I suggest you look to the Folktale Distro– they may be able to find something for you. Thanks a lot to those who have been writing to me both on e-mail and myspace. I know that I haven’t been able to meet some of you, but knowing that someone listens to our band (who isn’t friends with us!) is kind of amazing. To the people who followed through with my dare to send me your mailing address but haven’t gotten anything from me, feel free to shoot it over to me again. More than likely, I didn’t keep good track of it on myspace as I sent out 43 letters this year.

NEWS:

We’re cutting down on the amount of shows we play this season because of schedules, travel, school, and recording! We will be in the studio with jalipaz from audioconfusion in a few weeks. With that said, here are our next shows.

SEPTEMBER 14TH @ THE MANOR (Tempe, AZ) w/ THE BEETS (NY)

OCTOBER 27TH @ MODIFIED(Phoenix, AZ) w/ KURT VILE AND THE VIOLATORS (contact us for cheaper pre-sale tickets!)

NOVEMBER 17TH @ THE SMELL (Los Angeles, CA) w/ LAKE, KARL BLAU, THE FINCHES, DEVON WILLIAMS, AND RED PONY CLOCK.

kurtvilestellaluna

Posted in: Uncategorized